12 ways to use coconut oil

Untitled

I have been using coconut oil in my kitchen for a substitute of vegetable/canola oil for over 3 years now. Not only does it provide our bodies with some excellent nutrients but this amazing little coconut is actually useful in so many other ways…


woman-using-makeup-pads

Makeup Remover – No need to spend lots of money on makeup removers or special oils to get off makeup as coconut oil works an absolute treat, leaving zero residue of mascara or eyeliner on your eyes, while leaving your face moisturised! What I do is take a clean table-spoon and emulsify that in my hand (if the coconut is not already melted from the heat) and you rub gently all over your face. Rinse and cleanse like normal and voila – easy as that!


CoconutOilHair-3

Hair Mask Treatment – Due to me dying my hair blond every few months, my hair does tend to get on the drier side, so I have been using coconut oil in my hair for years and honestly I think it is why my hair has hardly any damage. What I personally do is before bed, i just cover my entire head of hair in coconut oil, from root to ends and I tie it up and sleep with it and then wash it out the next day! I sleep with a towel doubled up over my pillow when I do this, for obvious reason of course. Another alternative is to when in the shower, shampoo then towel dry your hair and then apply the oil. Leave for 10 or more minutes depending on how long you have to spare. Rinse and shampoo again, and condition as normal. You will notice such a difference in your hair!


oil-pulling-picture-1

Whiter Teeth (Oil Pulling) – Oil Pulling is an ancient Ayurvedic natural remedy for improving ones health. It involves the pure oils to pull harmful bacteria, fungus or other harmful organisms from your mouth, teeth or throat.  I found this little trick out about 12 months ago as it was circulating all over Instagram and some beauty pages that I follow, so I decided to give it a shot. You take a tablespoon of the coconut oil and you “swish” it around in your mouth, like if you were using mouth wash (just don’t gargle it – you may gag as it’s a thicker & warmer consistency to mouth wash) and you swish it around in and out of your teeth for about 20 minutes. I do this before I get into have a shower, then I will wash my hair, put a face mask on, shave my legs, all while I am still oil pulling so the time goes faster. I did this for 7 months before my wedding and noticed such a HUGE difference!


OlioCaldoBodyOilModel_large

Body Oil – Coconut oil is perfect for a moisturizer and very hydrating. You can also mix in some mint or lavender to use as a message oil if you desire.


vibevixen-moisturize-lips

Lip Balm – No more chapped lips with coconut oil around. Take a table-spoon and put it in a small container like a clean eye contact container, sample pot from makeup that you no longer use, whatever is small enough that you have handy will do fine. Throw it in your handbag and you’ll have an all natural, super moisturising, cheap handy-dandy lip balm!


Coconut-Lime-Sugar-Scrub-21_thumb

Body Scrub – No need to buy body scrubs anymore! Mix a half cup of sea salt/sugar or coffee granules with an equal amount of melted coconut oil, and then use your hands to rub it over any rough patches of skin. The scrub moisturizes while removing dead skin cells. The result: skin that’s baby soft. Add a little more salt/ sugar or coffee (whatever ingredient you decided to use) for the extra tough skin on your feet and elbows. On its own, you’ll step out of the shower with a faint tropical scent, but you could also add lavender oil, mint  or lime – That’s the fun part, creating what you want to add!


ce1852621d279286bd6c02c8e67fcce1

Frizz Fighter – Take a pea size or more depending on how long/thick your hair is and lightly go over your frizzy bits and on the ends of your hair.


Sweet-Potato-Cupcakes-made-with-healthy-quinoa-flour.-gluten-free.-

Egg Substitute – Forgot to buy some eggs? You or someone you know can not eat eggs? No worries, no-one has to miss out on the delicious cupcakes you are baking – swap eggs with coconut oil!


carrot-seed-oil-for-cuticles-760x428

Help Hangnails – Massage coconut oil into your nails to help relieve painful hangnails and potentially help heal existing ones.


Healthy-Popcorn-Toppings

Popcorn Flavouring – This is a healthier alternative to butter and gives the popcorn a new flavour.


58

Easy Lotion Bars – Heat coconut oil, beeswax and essential oils over medium heat. When melted and combined completely, pour into a mold (like ice-cube trays) and let it sit until it becomes firm. Then, rub the lotion on your body to moisturize skin.


Closeup of Cocoa Powder on spoon

Healthy Chocolate Bars – Combine cocoa powder, coconut oil, salt, honey and vanilla extract over heat and spread onto a baking sheet. Let cool and enjoy for a healthier alternative to a milk chocolate candy bar.


Hope I gave you a few more ideas for your coconut oil!

If you have any other ideas that you do with your coconut oil, comment down bellow, Id love to hear what you use it for!


Untitled


3 thoughts on “12 ways to use coconut oil

    • Its fantastic the way it really works! I was totally sceptical before trying and after a week I started noticing a difference after doing it every night! Im glad it has worked for you also!

      Yes, a great substitute 🙂 Takes a bit to get use to the taste but its still very good!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment